The Darkness are following up their recent LA shows with the debut of their new album Hot Cakes which was released everywhere in the U.S. today, 8/21, on Wind-Up Records. This is The Darkness’ third Studio album and the first since 2005’s Permission to Land. The newest singles have the same guitar shredding, falsetto wailing, and theatrics that made their first two albums so much fun! And probably most surprising is that Justin Hawkins was able to bring together all of the original band members (Justin Hawkins, Dan Hawkins, Ed Graham, and Frankie Piullain), a feat that looked impossible after the band’s non-mutual breakup in 2006. But as J. Hawkins says in “Knockers” off Permission to Land: “The old magic is still there!”  Check out their newest video below and information on their listening parties this evening 8/21 at Amoeba Hollywood @ 5pm and Amoeba San Francisco @ 6pm, and let us know what you think!

Today fans will get their first official chance to hear the new album in its entirety. And because the Darkness guys love a good theme, there will be actual cakes provided by Aunti Em’s kitchen… Check out the link here.

Here is a look at their single “Everybody Have a Good Time”:

0 Comments Join the Conversation →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *