Bob Seger's "Ride Out"

Alright all you Rabbits out there, this is a little out of form, but I can’t help but get excited when one of my Rock and Roll heroes releases a new album – especially when it’s the first studio album in over 8 years! Bob Seger, who everybody should know from such landmark albums as Night Moves, Stranger In Town, Against The Wind, Live Bullet and Nine Tonight, and who is already in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, recently announced the release of his 17th studio album, Ride Out, which is set to drop on October 14th. I just hope his trademark brand of Motor City rock ‘n’ roll shines through.

This album offers a collection of new songs, including “All of The Roads” and “Hey Gypsy,”, and Seger also lends his signature style to several personal favorites written by other artists, including the driving first track, “Detroit Made” written by John Hiatt, “California Stars” featuring lyrics by Woody Guthrie and music by Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy and Jay Bennett, Steve Earle’s “The Devil’s Right Hand,” and “Adam and Eve” penned by acclaimed Australian singer/songwriters Kasey Chambers and Shane Nicholson.

“I’m real excited about the album,” says Seger adding, “I hope the fans like it.  We worked real hard on it and here it is!”

Check out the official music video for the single “Detroit Made” here:

Bob Seger - Detroit Made
Bob Seger – Detroit Made

Produced by Seger, Ride Out was recorded at Nashville’s historic Ocean Way Recording studios, with backing from a stunning array of Music City’s greatest musicians: Academy of Country Music Guitar Player of the Year 2014 Rob McNelley (who also serves as lead guitarist in Seger’s current live band), bassist Glenn Worf (Mark Knopfler, Tammy Wynette), keyboardist and longtime live guitarist Jim “Moose” Brown (Brad Paisley, Darryl Worley), and drummer Chad Cromwell (Neil Young, Joe Walsh). Vince Gill lends harmony vocals to “Listen,” while background vocals throughout the album come courtesy of Laura Creamer, Shaun Murphy, and Barbara Payton. RIDE OUT was mixed by multiple GRAMMY® Award-winner Chris Lord-Alge (U2, Muse, Foo Fighters).




(Capitol Records)

Release Date: October 14



  1. Detroit Made
  2. Hey Gypsy
  3. The Devil’s Right Hand
  4. Ride Out
  5. Adam and Eve
  6. California Stars
  7. It’s Your World
  8. All of The Roads
  9. You Take Me In
  10. Gates of Eden
  11. Listen (Deluxe Album only)
  12. The Fireman’s Talkin’ (Deluxe Album only)
  13. Let The Rivers Run (Deluxe Album only)

0 Comments Join the Conversation →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *